3830018314_3885524624_z

 

They say there’s a secret math behind feel-good music; a combination of fast tempo, major keys and happy lyrics to make us feel all warm and fuzzy inside.  It all gets pretty technical, and I won’t bore you with all the sciencey stuff… All you need to know in order to understand this effect is a simple thing called Dopamine – a feel good neurochemical involved when we experience pleasure or reward… Kinda like how you feel when that witty Facebook status you put up yesterday finally went into double-digit likes. Turns out, certain music has the exact same effect, and anything with Lil motherfucking Wayne in it has the opposite effect. Lil Wayne makes me angry. Lil Wayne makes me depressed. Lil Wayne makes me nauseous. Lil Wayne makes me want to smash my fucking head into a wall until I’m dead.

Queen’s “Don’t stop me now” has long been considered the greatest feel-good, dragon-slaying, drive-real-fast-for-no-good-reason song of all time due to this simple mathematical formula.

freddie_mercury_57_large

“I’m a rocket ship on my way to Mars
On a collision course
I am a satellite I’m out of control
I am a sex machine ready to reload
Like an atom bomb about to
Oh oh oh oh oh explode!”

How are you not fuckin’ pumped right now?

Without further blah-blah, I give you my own feel-good playlist to strut to:

feel goods

  1. Fitz and the Tantrums  –  HandClap
  2.  The War on Drugs  –  Red Eyes
  3.  Major Lazer ft. Ellie Goulding  –  Powerful
  4.  Lord Huron  –  Fool for Love
  5.  The Oh Hello’s  –  Hello my Old Heart
  6.  Noah and the Whale  –  5 Years Time
  7.  Cold War Kids  –  Miracle Mile
  8.  Fitz and the Tantrums  –  The Walker
  9.  Imagine Dragons  –  Polaroid
  10.  GroupLove  –  Ways to Go
  11.  Air Traffic Controller  –  You Know Me
  12.  Django Django  –  Default
  13.  Cold War Kids  –  First
  14.  Milky Chance  –  Stolen Dance
  15.  Andrew Grammer  –  Good to Be Alive (Hallelujah)
  16.  Bronze Radio Return  –  Further On
Leave a Reply

